One Month til I Love My Park Day

I Love My Park DayIn just one month, volunteers from across the state will show their love for state parks on Saturday, May 4 for the second annual I Love My Park Day. It’s a great way to give back to the parks you use and enjoy throughout the year.

Over the next few weeks, we’ll highlight some of the exciting projects planned at more than 70 state parks and historic sites across New York. We have twice as many parks participating this year and expect more than twice the love!

One park holding a volunteer event is Clay Pit Ponds State Park Preserve. Clay Pit Ponds is located on Staten Island and was mined extensively in the 19th century for its kaolinite, optimal clay for bricks, terra cotta, and tiles. Today, the park is home to rare wildflowers and over 170 species of birds.

On I Love My Park Day, volunteers at Clay Pit Ponds will participate in a general cleanup of the park from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. All ages are welcome! Park staff recommends that volunteers come prepared with garden gloves, tick repellent, water, and a snack. Appropriate clothing is recommended (long pants, long sleeved shirts).

Join volunteers at Clay Pit Ponds State Park, or find another event near you and be a part of this exciting event!

I Love My Park Day is coordinated statewide by Parks & Trails New York in collaboration with the Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

